The Aristide Ravel /​
French Revolution mystery series

Each novel can stand alone, but if you're new to the
series, ideally you'll ignore the publishing dates and
read them in the following order:

The Cavalier of the Apocalypse
Pre-revolutionary Paris, 1786

Palace of Justice
Revolutionary Paris, 1793

Game of Patience
Revolutionary/Directoire Paris, 1796

A Treasury of Regrets
Revolutionary/Directoire Paris, 1797

Historical fiction

The Executioner's Heir: A Novel of Eighteenth-Century France
Fiction. In 1760s Paris, young Charles-Henri Sanson—forced by birth into an odious job as the public executioner—must reconcile his duty with his conscience.

A Far Better Rest
Fiction. A reimagining of Dickens's A Tale of Two Cities.


A Tale of Two Cities: A Reader's Companion
An annotated edition of Charles Dickens's classic for fans and students of the novel, with 780 footnotes and mini-essays on Georgian & Victorian England and the French Revolution.

Medieval Underpants and Other Blunders:
A Writer’s (and Editor’s) Guide to Keeping Historical Fiction Free of Common Anachronisms, Errors, and Myths.

(The title pretty much says it all.)

An non-Ravel e-short story set somewhere in the eighteenth century. Borrow it without charge for your Kindle via Kindle Unlimited subscription.

All books in print may be ordered through your local bookseller if not available on the shelf; or always at online booksellers. (But please patronize your local independent bookstore!)

All inquiries about translation, reprint, audio, or
film/​TV rights should be directed to:

Cristina Concepcion
Don Congdon Associates
110 William St., Suite 2202
New York, NY 10038

212 645 1229 phone
212 727 2688 fax

Selected Works

The Aristide Ravel French Revolution Mysteries:
Book 1 of the Ravel Mysteries

Quick Links

Find Authors